Pesticides containing the active ingredients bifenthrin, diphenylamine and triazoxide will have to be withdrawn from the market after the EU Agriculture Council failed to reach agreement in favour or against three European Commission proposals for not including the substances in the positive list of active ingredients contained in Annex I of the plant protection products Directive.

The Council adopted a Directive that will continue to allow the use of the active substance tetraconazole under strict conditions. It also adopted a Decision that allows the active substance metam to have an extended phasing-out period, until 13 January 2011, with restricted use.