Hebei Lansheng Biotech Co., Ltd.

CropLife America elects board leaders, honors award recipientsqrcode

Oct. 2, 2017

Favorites Print
Oct. 2, 2017
During the association's 2017 Annual Meeting held this week in Dana Point, California, CropLife America (CLA) announced the results of the annual election of directors. "The CLA Board of Directors strive to safeguard the accessibility of innovative crop protection technology for farmers, today and for the future's growing food demands," said Jay Vroom, president and CEO of CLA. "The Board's steadfast leadership continues to advance CLA's programs and initiatives. We would like to thank each director for their tireless dedication to the association, the industry, America's farmers, and moving food forward, worldwide." 
Jim Blome, president and CEO of Bayer Crop Science, was elected for a two-year term as CLA's 47th chair of the board. In addition, the following candidates were elected to serve on the CLA Board of Directors for the term 2017-2020:
•Rico Christensen, Arysta LifeScience Corporation
•Jeffrey Johnson, Nichino America
•Andrew Lee, Valent U.S.A. Corporation
•Brent McGowan, Wilbur- Ellis Company
•Chris Payne, CNI
•Steve Petersen, Gowan Company
•Ted Ramirez, Lonza Group Ltd.
•Paul Rea, BASF Corporation
•Rob Williams, ADAMA
•Lee Schaber, Scotts Miracle-Gro Company
•Keith Thomas, Vive Crop Protection 
CLA also recognized exceptional member company employees, allies and staff with awards during the general session on Monday, September 25, and the farewell gala dinner on Tuesday, September 26. Award recipients were nominated by industry professionals and selected by CLA leadership. 
Named for the association's first and longest-serving president, the Lea S. Hitchner Service Award represents CLA's greatest honor. The recipient of this year's award was:
•Scott Rawlins, Wilber-Ellis Company 
Mr. Rawlins was recognized for his focused leadership in recent years. In addition to a multitude of other issue and governance contributions spanning decades of service to US agriculture, the award shows appreciation for his work in local and state issue management excellence. 
Lifetime Achievement Award: Presented to those serving in the agriculture community who have shown exemplary service to the industry and ally partnership with CLA. This year, CLA honored three individuals:
•Frank Gasperini, National Council of Agricultural Employers
•Glenn Sims, National FFA
•Tom Tunnell, Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association 
Presidential Path to Leadership Award: Presented to those CLA members who have shown exemplary service as voluntary chairs of one or more CLA committees. This year, CLA honored three individuals with the Roosevelt Award (presented to those who have served one full, aggregate term leading a committee or Issues Management Team). The recipients of this year's awards were:
•Diane Allemang, FMC Corporation
•Ted Baumgarter, Valent USA
•Dave Flakne, Syngenta 
Workhorse Award: Recognizes significant and progressive contributions that support the crop protection industry and CLA as serving a key role in the production of a safe, affordable and abundant food supply for U.S. consumers.
•Cindy Smith, Gowan Company
•Dan Campbell, Syngenta
•John Cummings, FMC Corporation
•Bob Graney, Bayer
•Kevin Henry, TKI
•Steve Levine, Monsanto
•Eric Tamichi, Valent USA 
State Legislative Award: Honors those who demonstrate outstanding leadership in the area of state legislative issues and who promote initiatives that preserve, protect and advance the ability of farmers to provide a safe, affordable and abundant food supply to America.
•Iowa Agriculture Secretary Bill Northey
•Florida Senator Wilton Simpson 
Urbanowski Grassroots Award: Presented to a non-member individual who works to promote crop protection within communities and through grassroots activities.
•Robert Schuler, Arizona 
Agriculture Ambassador Award: Honors members of the media or allied organizations who have made a major contribution to the education of the public about crop protection and their contribution to a safe, affordable and abundant food supply.
•The Institute of Food Technologists 
This award was presented to acknowledge IFT's support and development of the new film "Food Evolution." 
Chairman's Award: Recognizes individuals within the CLA staff for exceptional service to member companies, the industry and the association.
•Jeff Case, senior director, government affairs, CropLife America
•Karen Reardon, vice president, public affairs at RISE 
"CLA is proud to honor these winners for their expertise and leadership in guiding our vision of advancing the industry and defending crop protection technology," continued Vroom. "CLA is a leader in agriculture owed to the contributions and voice of our members, staff, and allies. Through dedication to research and sound science, productive and strategic collaboration with partner organizations, and enhancing both consumer and grower outreach, the association and its members will lead the U.S. food system to become the world's powerhouse in sustainability and innovation." 

Picture 0/1200

More from AgroNews


2021 Certified Organic Agri-inputs Guide Chinese issue of Annual Review 2020
Annual Review 2020 2020 India Pesticide Suppliers Guide
2020 Market Insight Chinese issue of 2020 Market Insight
I wanna post a press Comment


Subscribe Email: *
Mobile Number:  


Picture 0/1200

Subscribe to daily email alerts of AgroNews.